Connect with us


BCCI announces hike in match fees for domestic cricketers ahead of 2021-22 season

BCCI announces hike in match fees for domestic cricketers ahead of 2021-22 season


Jay Shah made the announcement on Twitter.

Jay Shah
Jay Shah. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to hike the match fees of the domestic cricketers ahead of the upcoming season. The board is gearing up for a grand domestic season with tournaments across all age groups even as all the matches will be played inside the bubble following COVID-19 protocols. The pandemic had disturbed all the schedule last season as only T20 and One-Day tournaments were played.

With the intensity of second wave going down, the domestic season is set to get underway on September 20. The U19 Men and Women’s One-Day tournaments will go on until October 18. The same age category players will then be involved in Challenger Trophy before the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy for Senior Men cricketers gets underway on October 27. The mega domestic season will stretch until the last week of March 2022

As far as the hike in the match fees is concerned, BCCI Secretary Jay Shah took to Twitter to make the announcement. The players have been divided into three categories – Seniors (who have played above 40 matches), Under-23 and Under- 19.

The senior domestic cricketers will now get Rs 60,000 per match while the other two age groups are set to earn Rs 25,000 and 20,000 per match.


Cricketers played in 2019-20 season to get additional match fee as compensation

Jay Shah also tweeted that the players who participated in the 2019-20 season will get additional match. This step has been taken to compensate for the 2020-21 season when no cricket was played in India due to the prevailing COVID-19 situation. Both these decisions have been taken in the BCCI’s Apex Council Meeting it seems. However, more details are yet to come out officially.

As far as the domestic schedule is concerned, BCCI has planned it in such a way that all the players are available. Currently, the second season of the IPL is underway in UAE which will end on October 15. After the tournament, all the domestic cricketers will be available for their respective state teams to feature in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20, Vijay Hazare Trophy and Ranji Trophy unless any player is picked for national duty.