Bumrah, Jadeja Orchestrate Emphatic Win at Oval, First Time Since 1986 India Win 2 Tests in a Series in England

London: Pacer Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja blew away the England middle order to fashion India’s emphatic 157-run victory in the fourth Test, here on Monday. This is the first time since 1986 that the Indian team have pulled off two-Test match wins in a series in England. The last time India won a series against England was way back in 2007. In 2011, India lost 4-0 which was followed by a 3-1 series loss in 2014 and 4-1 in 2018. With that win at Oval, India have an unassailable 2-1 lead in the series with a Test still to be played in the five-match series.Also Read – LIVE India vs England Cricket Score 4th Test Today, Day 5 Updates: Virat Kohli & Co Register Comprehensive 157-Run Win to Take 2-1 Lead in Series

Chasing 368 for a win, England were positioned nicely at 131 for two in the opening session but lost six wickets in the middle session with Bumrah and Jadeja wreaking havoc on the fifth and final day of the game. Also Read – Watch: Jasprit Bumrah Peach of a Yorker That Sent Jonny Bairstow Packing in 4th Test at Oval

The hosts were eventually all out for 210 to hand India a 2-1 lead in the five-match series. Also Read – IND vs ENG: Jasprit Bumrah Breaks Kapil Dev’s Record to Become Fastest Indian Pacer to Pick 100 Test Wickets

The final match will be played in Manchester from September 10.

Bumrah was exceptional with his in-swinging balls and teasing yorkers while Jadeja exploited the rough patches on the track to tilt the game in India’s favour.

England lost six wickets for 62 runs in the second session and were all out in the post-tea session.

Bumrah dismissed Ollie Pope (2) and Jonny Bairstow (0) while Jadeja saw the back of Haseeb Hameed (63) and Moeen Ali (0).

Shardul Thakur got the key wicket of rival skipper Joe Root (36) while Umesh Yadav dismissed Chris Woakes (18), Craig Overton (10) and James Anderson (2).

Brief Scores:

India: 191 and 466

England 290 and 210 in 92.2 overs. (H Hameed 63, R Burns 50; U Yadav 3/60, S Thakur 2/22, J Bumrah 2/27, R Jadeja 2/50).

(With PTI Inputs)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *