Connect with us


T20 World Cup – South Africa leave out Faf du Plessis and Imran Tahir and Chris Morris

T20 World Cup - South Africa leave out Faf du Plessis and Imran Tahir and Chris Morris



Temba Bavuma is expected to recover in time to lead the team at the marquee tournament

Faf du Plessis has not been included in South Africa’s T20 World Cup squad despite being available to play international white-ball cricket. The 37-year old former captain, who retired from Tests in February, specifically named the upcoming global tournament as one of his goals. However, he has not played a white-ball match for South Africa since December last year and has not been part of any their recent squads either.

“Faf has got a wonderful record,” the selection convener Victor Mptisang said, “But at the moment, we want to be consistent in selection and this is the group of players we have gone with.”

Similarly, Imran Tahir, who retired from ODIs after the 2019 World Cup but remained available for T20Is, is also not part of the squad. Chris Morris is also out. The seam-bowling allrounder has not played for South Africa in two years and earlier this year revealed that he had no idea if he had a future with the team.

ESPNcricinfo understands that communication with players who have not been awarded national contracts has been scant. This effectively means South Africa have decided against using free agents in the national side.

South Africa’s injured white-ball captain Temba Bavuma, who had to leave the squad currently in Sri Lanka after breaking his thumb, is expected to recover in time to lead them at the World Cup.

Bavuma had surgery on Sunday and is expected to be fit by mid to late October. He will lead a 15-player squad with three frontline spinners, Tabraiz Shamsi, Keshav Maharaj and Bjorn Fortuin. Spin-bowling allrounder George Linde travels as a reserve player. “It’s the subcontinent and with the IPL being played before the tournament so we know the wickets will take a lot of spin. We have to look at the balance of the squad,” Mpitsang said in a television broadcast.

South Africa squad: Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Radaba, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen

Reserves: George Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lizaad Williams

More to follow

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo’s South Africa correspondent