Ramiz Raja elected PCB chairman unopposed

Lahore: Former captain Ramiz Raja has been elected as the 36th chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) here on Monday.

Ramiz, who was Prime Minister Imran Khan’s nominee for the post, was elected unopposed for a period of three years by a seven-member Board of Governors (BoG) during a meeting at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium.

The 59-year-old Ramiz is the 32nd person to lead the cricket board as Najam Sethi was elected three times while Zaka Ashraf and Shahryar Khan were named two times respectively.

PCB chairmanship election took place under the supervision of PCB Election Commissioner, Mr. Justice (retd) Sheikh Azmat Saeed. Aasim Wajid Jawad, Alia Zafar, Asad Ali Khan, Arif Saeed, Javed Kurieshi, Ramiz Raja and Wasim Khan attended the special meeting of BoG.

Ramiz will do his first media interaction at 1:15 pm which will be live-streamed on all PCB social media channels.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *