URA 2-1 Ethiopia Bunna: Tax Collectors start Caf Confederation Cup journey with slim win

The Taxmen scored their goals in the first half with the visitors pulling one back after the interval

Uganda Revenue Authority (URA) started their Caf Confederation Cup journey with a 2-1 win over Ethiopia Bunna in the preliminary round on Sunday.

In the match staged at St. Mary’s Stadium, Steven Mukwala scored a brace for the hosts before William Solomon Tesfay scored a valuable away goal in the second half.

The Tax Collectors showed they meant business from the first whistle, pushing to get a goal. But they were not going to get it easy as the Ethiopian outfit maintained their discipline and ensured the danger was cleared. 

Shafik Kagimu could have given URA a lead in the 15th minute but shot wide from a good area. Moments later, Mukwala had a massive chance to score but he failed to effectively control the ball.

In the 22nd minute, he made up for his mistake, connecting a Viane Ssekajugo header. The latter was making his debut for the Taxmen and he made it count after setting up Mukwala.

The striker doubled the hosts’ advantage with seven minutes left to the break. This time around, he spotted the goalkeeper out of position and curled the ball beyond his reach from 25-yards out.

Bunna ended the first 45 minutes on a high as Tesfay forced Nafian Alionzi in the URA goal to pull off a decent save. The rebound fell kindly to Haile Gebrekirstos who failed to hit the target.

Ten minutes after the pause, Bunna scored the vital away goal after taking advantage of poor marking to get into the danger zone before calmly slotting the ball past the custodian.

Patrick Mbowa had an opportunity to score URA’s third with 20 minutes to go, but he failed to hit the target. 

They could have paid for their miss in the 81st minute when Yalew Endale left his marker for dead but failed to match his effort with his finish.

The two teams will meet again on September 18 at Bahir Dar Stadium for the second leg with the meeting finely balanced.

URA XI: Alionzi Nafian Legason, Ashraf Mandela, Derrick Ndhiro, Hudu Mulikyi, Najib Fesali, Patrick Paul Mbowa, Saidi Kyeyune, Shafik Kuchi Kagimu, Cromwel Rwothomio, Steven Mukwala, Viane Ssekajugo

Bunna XI: Abel Mamo, Abebe Tilahun, Wondeminhe Dereji, Haile Gebretinsae, Asrat Tonjo, Solomon Tefesse, Amanuel Gamo, William Solomon Tesfay, Ahmed Abubeker, Yalem Endale, Mekonen Mikeyas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *