Connect with us


Wallabies make the call on Quade Cooper as Bledisloe team is named

Can Quade and Samu wind back the clock for the Wallabies?


He was talked about for the last fortnight but Wallabies coach Dave Rennie has decided against picking Quade Cooper for the third and final Bledisloe Cup game in Perth on Sunday.


Instead, Rennie has stuck with Noah Lolesio in the No.10 jersey with Matt To’omua the option on the bench.

Meanwhile, Samu Kerevi is a confirmed starter in the Wallabies team.

It will be the first time Kerevi has pulled on the Australian jersey in two years. Kerevi’s inclusion was made possible due to changes with the Giteau Law which allows overseas players to represent Australia despite not meeting the previous 60-cap qualification.

The other big inclusion is Isack Rodda who also returns the Wallabies team that lost the opening two Bledisoe matches against New Zealand including a 57-22 drubbing.

Folau Fainga’a is also set to play his first Test of 2021, named at hooker in an all-Brumbies front row alongside James Slipper and Allan Alaalatoa.


“It’s great to be able to call on the experience of Samu and Izack this weekend with Hunter and Lukhan leaving the group to be with their partners in what’s a really exciting time of their lives,” Dave Rennie said.

“Both Samu and Izack have worked really hard since joining the group, been positive additions and have earned their opportunity to pull on the gold jersey on Sunday afternoon at Optus Stadium.

Wallabies team for Bledisloe 3/Rugby Championship vs New Zealand
1. James Slipper (105 Tests)
2. Folau Fainga’a (16 Tests)
3. Allan Alaalatoa (48 Tests)
4. Darcy Swain (5 Tests)
5. Matt Philip (14 Tests)
6. Lachlan Swinton (3 Tests)
7. Michael Hooper (c) (110 Tests)
8. Rob Valetini (9 Tests)
9. Tate McDermott (7 Tests)
10. Noah Lolesio (7 Tests)
11. Marika Koroibete (38 Tests)
12. Samu Kerevi (33 Tests)
13. Len Ikitau (4 Tests)
14. Andrew Kellaway (4 Tests)
15. Tom Banks (16 Tests)
16. Lachlan Lonergan (2 Tests)
17. Angus Bell (7 Tests)
18. Taniela Tupou (30 Tests)
19. Izack Rodda (25 Tests)
20. Pete Samu (10 Tests)
21. Nic White (37 Tests)
22. Reece Hodge (48 Tests)
23. Jordan Petaia (9 Tests)